Victory Lane at the Indy 500

Winning the Indianapolis 500 is one of the greatest honors in racing—a title steeped in the tradition of kissing the bricks, drinking the milk, and wearing the winner’s wreath in Victory Lane.

Video Transcript

This is the Greatest Spectacle in Racing, where 33 of the world’s fastest drivers race over 200 miles an hour only to win in a split-second finish. 

Since 1911, the Indianapolis 500 has been the pinnacle of high-speed motorsports, attracting racers from all across the globe in hopes of taking home the Borg-Warner Trophy. But after a century of racing, only a lucky few have stood in the Winners Circle and tasted that legendary milk. 

To this day, the record for the most Indy 500 wins stands at an astonishing four victories—a record shared by legends like Al Unser, A. J. Foyt, Rick Mears, and Helio Castroneves.  

These four-time winners have beat the odds again and again, pushing the limits of innovation to cross the finish line and carve their names into racing history.

You may also like